A Bitter Pill

A man has dreams of walking with giants
To carve his niche in the edifice of time
Before the mortar of his zeal
Has a chance to congeal
The cup is dashed from his lips
The flame is snuffed aborning
He’s brought to rack and ruin in his prime

My world was calm, well-ordered, exemplary
Then came this person, with chaos in her wake
And now my life’s ambitions go, with one fell blow
It’s quite a bitter pill to take.
George Banks (Mary Poppins)

There’s a look on Mr. Banks’ face at this point of Mary Poppins that is completely dejected, but also puzzled — as in, “How in the heck did that just happen?”. That’s about how I feel this morning.

  • I am a superstitious observer of Tar Heel athletics, to the extent that my behavior can impact the outcome (in my mind). But it didn’t matter what I did last night, I could not make it stop. (Even begging didn’t work: “PLEASE, make it STOP!”).
  • What in the world was the Tar Heel Sports Network thinking by having Bill Guthridge as the pre-game guest and Hubert Davis as the half-time guest?! I love both of them, but seriously… (1) the coach of our last team to go to the Final Four in San Antonio, where we lost in painful fashion to Utah and had to endure seeing Antawn Jamison kissing center court goodbye; and (2) the senior point guard from our 1991 team that went to the Final Four and lost to: KANSAS! Am I the only one who sees the bad mojo here?
  • I hope after last night that we never have to hear another word from those ungrateful Kansas SOBs that want to moan about Roy leaving.
  • Billy Packer is an unwatchable tool. But then, you knew that.
  • What the heck is up with that tie, Roy? It’s the Final Four; it’s okay to wear your school colors.
  • As much pride as I have in seeing our team come back to within 4 after being down TWENTY EIGHT points, that deficit is shameful. I said to my brother-in-law before the game that Kansas was a great team and there is no shame to losing to them, but I was assuming a reasonably close game. That first half just hurt.
  • On the whole, this was an outstanding season. 36-3. ACC tournament and regular season champs. East Regional Champs and Final Four participants. It may take a little longer to truly bask in the glow of this season, because of the way we lost the last game, but it was a heck of a year.
  • I’m going to miss Quentin Thomas. It seems like he’s been around forever. He consistently showed himself to be dedicated, selfless, and a great team player. And after opening his career as an unexpected starter in front of his friends and family in a loss against Santa Clara and closing it with last night’s game, I declare Q to be the patron saint of painful Carolina losses. In the future, we should all pray to Q to help us pick up the pieces and move on.
4 Responses

  1. Trust me – you won’t ever hear from us again. And we aren’t paying the postage due if you try to send him back.

    Rock Chalk Jayhawk

  2. Cracks me up. I got some “Jay Hawk” love on my blog too. It would appear that a one time smack down was all that was required for KU to quickly get over the loss of Roy. Just wait until Self leaves for the $$ that is awaiting him at OK State. Yikes.

    Kelvin Sampson’s looking for work….

  3. Interesting thoughts, Ed. Loved the tie comment. I was thinking the same thing. Where did that thing come from….

  4. About Roy’s tie…since you’re a superstitious Tar Heel fan like I am, you’ll need to go back in the annuls of game photo gallery’s to do the research. However, Roy has multiple ties that I deem UGLY. I’ve come to assume that both he and Wanda are color blind. But, there is beauty in those UGLY ties. Every time we win, Roy is wearing a tie I wouldn’t even donate to Goodwill. When he wears his really pretty Carolina blue ties, we look like absolute crap on the court.

    After the Final Four loss, I sat in my basement in front of the TV wondering what the heck happened because he was wearing THE TIE. THE TIE was supposed to carry us through. In fact, when I saw him during pre-game and saw the tie, I nearly jumped up and down because that tie has worked for us before. I guess the mojo from that specific tie ran out at about 8:55pm that Saturday night.

Leave a Reply

